Tours From the NGRS Early Years

Tours From the NGRS Early Years

Booklet published by the Narrow Gauge Railway Society, 22 pages. A4 size Booklet (N7608)

From the introduction: The NGRS was founded in 1951 and in its early years had a decidedly Yorkshire bias. The late Ron Redman, who became chairman of the Society in 1958 and retired from that post exactly 50 years later, was responsible as Leeds area secretary for organising many early visits to industrial and preserved railways. Ron died in December 2013, and some of his folders of photographs taken on NGRS and private visits have recently been placed in the library. They often include accompanying visit reports from early issues of NGN and/or correspondence with the owners of the lines. This issue of TNG includes photographs from some of these trips - mostly in the 1950s, with the remainder in the 1960s. It's a fascinating reminder of how extensive and diverse the use of the narrow gauge in industry was more than 60 years ago, and the fascinating locations then available to the enthusiast. Contents include:

Nocton Estate Light Railway, 1955
Ledston Luck Colliery
Welshpool and Llanfair Special, 1955
Waltham and Eastwell Quarries
Austwick Quarry, near Settle
Horton in Ribblesdale Limeworks,
Knostrop Sewage Works, Leeds
John Knowles (Wooden Box) Ltd, Woodville, BICC Ltd
BICC Ltd Erith
Arthur Guinness, Dublin

The condition of the booklet is generally very good. The cover has one or two very minor scuffs but is clean and bright, the staple spine is intact and all pages are clean, intact, unblemished and tightly bound.