The Old Stroud Brewery 1760-1970, by Marion Hearfield

£11.99
The Old Stroud Brewery 1760-1970, by Marion Hearfield

Published by the Stroud Local History Society, 88 pages. Paperback (N7181X1)

This book tells the history of the Brewery at Rowcroft, from its beginnings in Middle Lypiatt in the mid 1760s to its demise in 1970. All those interested in brewing history will value this book for its insight, not only into the brewing process, but also into the laws which governed breweries and pubs over the years. Those who like to explore Stroud history will value the fascinating collection of old map extracts and of rarely-seen photographs. The book is the result of meticulous research and includes sections on artefacts, the sign artists, and Brewery waggons. Interviews with former workers have added much to the story, from anecdotes and explanations to the helpful labelling of photos of the old buildings. Sections include:

The Leversage Years
The Watts Years
Watts Hallewall, Biddell and Stanton
Stround Brewery Co Ltd
Water Supply
Staff Welfare
Beer, Barrels and Bottles
Drays and Waggons
Brewery Memories
Closure and Redevelopment
Canal Restoration

Condition of the book is generally very good. The cover is clean and tidy, the spine is intact and all pages are clean, intact, unblemished and tightly bound. Has a price printed and a small price sticker, both on the rear side cover