The Killin Branch - A Personal Recollection, by Peter Waylett
Published by Lamplight in 2010, 48 pages. Paperback - 17cm by 24cm (N5547)
This book provides a fascinating pictorial account of the Killin Branch railway line. The Killin Railway was built to connect the town of Killin to the Callander and Oban Railway main line nearby, and it opened in 1886. It quickly became busy carrying tourist traffic for steamers on Loch Tay, and propspered until the grouping of the Railways in 1923, when it was taken over by the London Midland and Scottish Railway. The line continued in operation until the adjacent main line closed in 1965. The Killin line closed shortly after.
From the rear side cover: Author Peter Waylett developed a lifelong fascination with this little railway branch line, spending many happy holidays in Scotland when the line was in use serving the local community. He is also a keen walker, another interest apart. 'This book is written with a blend of both interests in mind, which is why he has included a walking map at the back of the book. Providing not only an appreciation of beautiful highland scenery, but also an absorbing interest in the history of the little train that ran backwards and forwards for so many years.
The condition of the book is excellent. The covers are clean and bright, the spine is tight and intact, and all pages are clean, intact, unblemished and tightly bound. There is a small price sticker on the rear side cover