Booklet published by the Marple Local History Society, 68 pages. A5 size booklet (N5328)
This booklet provides a fascinating history of the mill which epitomised the Stockport town of Marple for over a century. It looks at the operation of the mill, how it was managed and the work involved, as well as the workers in the mill over the years and the memories of some of the people who worked there. The narrative goes on to profile the various owners - who they were, how they managed and what happened to them when they left the mill, and fnally it measures the impact the mill and its owners have had on Marple and District both at the time and the legacy that is still with us today.....
From the introduction: There were just under two thousand people living in Marple at the start of the nineteenth century, a population living in scattered hamlets and farms. During the two years 1790-92, Mellor Mill, the largest in the country at the time, was built on the Mellor side of the River Goyt. There were already several spinning mills by the streams in nearby Mellor. The mill and village complex at Compstall had been growing since the early 1820s into an integrated complex undertaking all processes - spinning, weaving, bleaching, dyeing and printing. All these local mills were water powered and the area was getting better communications. The construction of the Peak Forest Canal, finished in 1804, and the Macclesfield Canal (1831) gave the district excellent water communications. In addition the building of two turnpikes, Hayfield to Marple Bridge (1792) and Stockport to Hayfield via Marple (1801) rnade the area ripe for development. However no large mill was constructed in Marple until Hollins Mill in the 1830s. The smaller Shepley's mill by the Macclesfield Canal at Hawk Green was built in the same decade. By 1851 the population had nearly tripled.
Hollins Mill and the streets built around it became the centre of Marple. The families who owned and ran the company had a tremendous impact on the growth of the village and influenced every activity, whether social, religious, educational, political or recreational for many years. Before the mill was built the area around Peace Farm, called Norbury Smithy at the junction of Back Lane (now Station Road) and Church Lane was the centre of Marple. The mill moved the village centre a quarter of a mile to the east along the Stockport Road towards the canal.
Today nothing remains of the large mill; only its name enduring in the shops of the Hollins Parade on the Stockport Road. Hollins House, once the home of several of the mill owners still stands in the Memorial Park but it is now owned by Stockport MBC and used by Social Services and the Citizens Advice Bureau. Of the other family homes only Stonehurst is still standing, providing homes for senior citizens. Woodville and Rosehill have been demolished. The Carver Theatre keeps alive the name of one of the mill owning families. There are plaques on the defunct drinking fountain in the Oldknow Recreation Ground, recording the gift of the land and the children's play area by William Hodgkinson and Thomas Carver. The mill itself, which essentially created Marple has now gone and there are few relics to record its passing. This booklet tries to fill that gap...
Condition of the booklet is generally excellent. The cover is clean and bright, the staple spine is tight and intact and all pages are clean, intact, unblemished and tightly bound. Has a small price sticker on the rear side.